Sleeping arrangements …

So, we were packed to go to this village, and we didn’t know where we’d be sleeping. The guys–both Handong and Calvin–were supposed to sleep on the floor upstairs in the church. After lunch, we were invited to rest at the pastor’s house, a little stucco structure painted turquoise. So, we piled four and five people on a bed and chatted, while the Handong girls draped themselves over chairs and slept.

It didn’t look like we’d get very comfortable berths for the night, so I was thrilled when the pastor asked me during the dance party if I’d like to go to the other house to sleep. A few of us followed him and a his assistants out of the church yard and down a dirt lane. He kept pointing the flashlight behind him and saying, “Look here, please,” to help us avoid the puddles. (Oh, yeah, we have been told repeatedly that in the dry season it never rains in Cambodia, so, of course we got a nice downpour while in Krangthmoung.)

Suddenly,on our right, I saw a capacious house painted pale purple. It was an enthralling sight. How many rooms would this big, purple party house have, and, more importantly, how many beds would be in them? We took off our shoes and ventured indoors. The ceiling was ornate. The columns were purple. There was heavy, wooden furniture in the downstairs rooms.

The Hard-Rest Hotelshoes outside (Khmer culture)

The pastor showed us one room with a wooden slat bed, but we passed quickly on. There was a curved stairway, and we climbed it eagerly. And there we found beds–covered with girls– and lots of bedspreads on the floor. Thanks to the kindness of Julienne Louters, who swapped with me, I got a spot on one of the beds with two other girls. Nevertheless, I didn’t sleep, and when I got up and walked into the hall, I found girls curled up everywhere on the hard tile like refugees. They hadn’t slept either.

So, when I walked back down the dirt lane, just before I got to the entrance gate of the church, I saw a rooster. I’d heard him all night–other animals too, but I think he’s the instigator.”Be quiet!” I scolded him. “You’re the whole problem!” And I rounded the corner to find four Khmer men staring at me like I was crazy.

On Sunday, we go to Eden Farm, where we will sleep outdoors on thin mattresses on a raised platform. We are not allowed to cross the concrete after dark because of the king cobras. We’re a little bit nervous about the king cobras.

2 comments so far

  1. jim'n'arda on

    Your last post gave a whole new meaning to your blog title: on the ground. oh my, the things you are experiencing! it sounds wonderful, rich, daunting, dismaying, and everything in between. I just want you to know that I’m really enjoying your blog; thank you so much for keeping it updated. Say hi to Elia; tell her she met a brother-in-law of a very dear friend of mine from Canada (Helen De Graaf is Rick’s sister-in-law). Our prayers are always with you, and we eagerly check the blogs every day. Arda (Elia’s mom)

    • myrnaanderson on

      Hi, I said hi to Elia. Thanks for the heads up about the DeGraafs.

      Myrna


Leave a Reply

